Jim Shorkey


Oxford American – alternate tracks
January 14, 2011, 10:54 pm
Filed under: picks | Tags:

Since I have been pulling from the latest Oxford American, I should mention that this years state is Alabama and they go way beyond the usual Muscle Shoals picks. Their website currently has a whack of tracks that didn’t make the CD.

http://www.oxfordamerican.org/articles/2010/dec/02/alternate-universe-alabama-music-compilation/


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Much of this fab compilation was a revelation to me. Lots of great tunes. Sammy Salvo’s Mushroom Cloud is stupendous. I’d heard of the punkish pop legends Sex Clark Five for years. Excitations!

Comment by Carlton

I knew nothing of Sex Clark Five, making it more of a revelation for me.

Each listen of the CD brings a new favourite. Excitations is right.

Comment by shorkey




Leave a comment